Today is my birthday.   Today is also my husband’s birthday.  I used to want my own day, but now I think it is just kind of fun.  We had a nice dinner celebration last night.  It was held outdoors with family and friends,  just a beautiful day!  As we watched our grandkids running around,  I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate!  Today  Mike and I are just relaxing and enjoying our garden and hanging out at home.  We very rarely do that thing called “nothing”  but this kind of nothing is one that counts as time well spent.  I love Piers Morgan’s question;   “how many times have you been properly in love”   We are truly Blessed!

We are also celebrating my Capture the Colours Photo contest win.  Every now and then we experience something that is just so surreal at the time.  That is kind of how this is. Since winning, I have been sent on a photo shoot,  have had a few interviews, I am tweeting, blogging and just trying to figure it out as I go along.  So for this blog I am flying solo without a hand to guide me through the mechanics of it.   I hope I am successful!

All of this happened because of one simple thing; my passion for photography.  One of my mantras in life is simply put “Do what you love!”   If I didn’t take the time to gift myself with those precious hours of total immersion into photography,  I just can’t imagine what that would be like.   I would certainly be robbing myself.  Getting out there heightens all human senses!  Even the feel of the air is different.  It’s just incredible. The sights, sounds and smells of a Northern Ontario forest is just about as good as it gets!

DO WHAT YOU LOVE.

Kathy