How can we not be captivated by the sheer spirit of an Olympian?  My hope is that each and every one of them, whether they come in first or last;  whether they stand at the podium for a medal ceremony or not;  that they realize the true enormity of this great accomplishment;  that getting there is already a dream come true.  It’s not the end result but the journey.  Easier said than done I am sure.  But wow, how can we not marvel at their true grit and determination to get there!

I can’t even begin to fathom what that is like.  Every sprain,  every bead of sweat,  every torn muscle,  all of that and more  is what it took to get them where they are today.  Many many months and years of training to get to a level worthy of the olympics.  It’s all about making it one step at a time. Every competitive win was a stepping stone to the next level.  A series of mini dreams come true to get to this huge one.  The spirit and heart of a determined athlete is truly awe-inspiring.  And to see them realizing the dream of being a part of this globally unifying event is quite remarkable.

When a hope is realized and when something unbelievably good happens; something you have strived for actually comes to fruition;  wow that is a dream come true.  That sought after degree leads to the dream job,  which leads to the purchase of that first house,  one dream building on another.   And so it continues.

Some dreams arise from sheer blood sweat and tears and unbelievable determination (a nod to my son-in-law).  Those are the dreams where the journey really challenges us.  Other dreams are the result of the luck of the draw like a lottery win.

Some of my realized dreams have come easy.  Childbirth?  Ha, not so easy, but honestly exhilarating!  Becoming a grandparent?  Easy Peasy!   We didn’t have to work to attain that dream.  They are a true God-given gift who have enriched our lives in ways that can never be topped.

Some dreams arise from utter passion.  I am living out a dream as we speak.  To think that potentially millions of people will see my work is a true dream come true. Capturing beautiful images doesn’t just happen.  It’s not a matter of running out taking pictures and you magically have something worthy of framing.  When I wake up in the early morning and it is still dark outside, I often want to roll over and go back to sleep.  But then it happens; that feeling bubbling up inside and calling me out the door.  Sometimes I get to the window and think “nah, I am going back to bed”  but then that feeling  kicks in again and before you know it I am out the door waking up with the birds and the rising mist.  It is INCREDIBLE to experience this.

I have to believe that no matter what the outcome is from this win,  I truly know that I am already living my dream.  It is meaningless if I don’t love what I am doing.  We all have an invitation to live life out loud; to be fully engaged in it.   Or watch it from the sidelines.  We make those choices each and everyday.

Thanks for the inspiration from all determined Olympians! The photograph in this blog entry is entitled “Believe”  Another little nod to our family.  When we believe  there is nothing we can’t do!

Kathy

