Sunray Showers

Actually there is more than one bear poop story. But the first one is the most poignant! 🙂  I am sure a bear story would be a little more captivating but I will share that one when it happens. I see a lot of deer when I am out and about but so far I haven’t come face to face with a bear. Just it’s poop.

In one of the video clips that will be seen probably both on the Homesav site/YouTube,  I am standing on a trail where I captured both Enchanted Forest and Sunray Showers. Standing there with my videographer brought me back to one of my early morning excursions:

It was about 6 in the morning.  I parked my car near the trail and headed down the path with camera around my neck, cell phone in my pocket and a nice loud whistle (just in case!)  Then I heard a rustling sound. The first thing that came to mind was that drill etched into my brain; ‘look as big as you can, flap your hands and make a loud noise’ I repeated this a few times in my head. I resisted temptation to run. Oh but I wanted to! Sometimes that instinct to do so isn’t in our best interests. I heard the rustling again and I momentarily froze as I repeated that drill in my head. Then I thought the whistle!  I will blow the whistle.  God, I am so brilliant in a crisis. Just as I grabbed the whistle a tiny wee little squirrel came out of the woods, froze and momentarily stared at me.  Suddenly he bolted as fast as he could and as far away from me as possible. Sheesh. That was my bear. How humiliating.

As I walked further down the path I started to relax again and remembered my purpose for being out there.   My heartbeat settled and I continued on with my trek.  And there it was.  Bear poop.  I was raised in Northern Ontario. I know what that looks like. That little squirrel did not drop this one!  In that split second I questioned my sanity and considered going back to the car.  But then those darn sunrays!  They pull me in every time.  I simply cannot walk away.  Once my camera was focused on the beautiful light and the rays and the trees…I was utterly lost in that beautiful world again.  The fear completely left me and I was captivated by the incredible beauty of the forest.  The sounds of the birds, the feel of the air on my skin.  Even as I write about this, I am re-living that  inner sense of wonder and well-being.

So now what do I do when I hear a rustle in the woods?  Nothing. I keep going.  It is just one of the beautiful sounds that belong there.  And the poop?  Well, I just walk around it.  It belongs there too.

Whenever I look at Enchanted Forest and Sunray Showers I think about the beauty of not only that day,  but the beauty of overcoming a fear.  A fear that could have stopped me from doing something that I absolutely love.  A beautiful gift indeed!

Kathy

